Bunsen, Wexford Street, Dublin 2.

IMG_20140927_195346

 

The menu here can fit on one side of a business card, in fact that exactly what the menu is. There are just two burgers options – a hamburger and cheeseburger. Fries are hand cut, shoestring or sweet potato. It is minimal but don’t let that put you off, they know what they’re doing.

I’m not even sure I can accurately describe the burger, I fear my vocabulary will fail me, but I’ll give it a lash. The first thing you will notice is that when they are taking your order they ask you how you would like your burger. Initially my instinct told me that a medium-rare burger is not a good idea, but I decided to hold the course, the waitress recommended that we should choose the burger the same way we would choose a steak, mines medium-rare. Be warned, once they take your order, it’s going to be  at least  10 – 15 minutes before your food is in front of you. Everything is made to order and fresh. They use only high quality Black Aberdeen Angus, which they mince themselves (there’s a couple of good videos on their website about the process, you can find them here).

This is the best burger I have ever tasted. Bar none. The toppings are all classic – tomato, lettuce, pickle with mayo, ketchup and mustard. The buns are fresh and tasty. But the star of the show is the burger itself – you’ve never had a burger like this – it was so juicy, so tender, so full of flavour, it practically melted in my mouth, it was delicious. my verdict – this burger will change your life, it has to be tasted to be believed!

The wait staff are all suitably youthful and attractive, but they are genuinely warm and friendly and were happy to engage in any annoying questions that I had. It gets really busy here, especially towards the weekend, but the do also have a take out service.

2 thoughts on “Bunsen, Wexford Street, Dublin 2.

Leave a Reply

